Claire Young confirmed as Leader of South Gloucestershire Council

26 May 2023
Liberal Democrat South Gloucestershire Council Group

On Wednesday 24th May, Councillor Claire Young was formally confirmed as the new Leader of South Gloucestershire Council, following the Local Council Election results earlier this month which saw the Liberal Democrats increase its number of Councillors to 20.

Councillor Young said:

“It is an absolute honour to be confirmed as Leader of South Gloucestershire Council and I’d like to thank everyone for the support that I have received. Our administration will be delivering vital council services despite Conservative cuts and tackling the twin challenges of the cost of living crisis and the climate and nature emergency.

“We want to create a council which works with local people to get things done. I think we have an excellent team to deliver on that ambition”.

Councillor Young was first elected in 2007, and since 2018 has led the Liberal Democrat group on South Gloucestershire Council. Cllr Maggie Tyrell has been re-elected as Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat group. 

Liberal Democrat Members of the Cabinet are as follows:

  • Leader of South Gloucestershire Council and Cabinet Member for Council Governance – Councillor Claire Young
  • Cabinet Member for Planning, Regeneration, and Infrastructure – Councillor Chris Willmore
  • Cabinet Member for Climate and Nature Emergency - Councillor Louise Harris
  • Cabinet Member for Children and Young People - Councillor Maggie Tyrell
  • Cabinet Member for Adults and Homes – Councillor John O’Neill

The following Liberal Democrat lead members will be working with their Labour cabinet counterparts: 

  • Lead Member for Education, Skills, Employment and Business - Councillor Ayrden Pocock
  • Lead Member for Cost of Living, Equalities and Public Health - Councillor Sandra Emms
  • Lead Member for Resources - Councillor Jon Lean
  • Lead Member for Communities and Local Place - Councillor Jayne Stansfield
  • Chair of Council - Councillor Mike Drew

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.