South Gloucestershire Liberal Democrats announce their top team to take on the Conservatives

The Liberal Democrats have unveiled their shadow cabinet on South Gloucestershire Council following their Annual General Meeting last night.

Newly re-elected group leader, Claire Young (Frampton Cotterell) said: “I’m delighted in our new frontbench that we have a great balance of experienced returning councillors and new councillors bringing fresh ideas. I know that this will be a really dynamic team who will do a great job of holding the Conservative-run Council to account.”  

Along with Cllr Young, also returning to the shadow cabinet are Maggie Tyrrell (Thornbury) as Deputy Leader and Shadow Executive Member for Adults and Public Health, along with Mike Drew (Yate North) who stays on as Shadow Executive Member for Corporate Resources.

Adrian Rush (Chipping Sodbury & Cotswold Edge), who returned to the Council after defeating former Conservative Cabinet Member Rob Creer earlier this month, will lead for the Lib Dems on Planning, Transport and Strategic Environment. While Louise Harris (Dodington), who joined the Council last year after her by-election win will take on the Community Services and Tourism brief, which covers services as diverse as libraries, leisure centres and recycling collections.

Two first time councillors, elected in May, will also take on shadow cabinet roles. UWE student James Arrowsmith (Stoke Park & Cheswick), who at 23 is the youngest member of the Council, will take on the Children & Young People’s portfolio. While lecturer and former teacher, Jayne Stansfield (Thornbury), becomes the new Lib Dem lead member for Schools, Skills and Employment – and will lead the fight against Conservative SEND cuts and chronic underinvestment in local schools.

The full set of Lib Dem lead members, is as follows:

Shadow Cabinet:

Leader and Shadow Executive Member for the Local Economy and Devolution: Claire Young

Deputy Leader and Shadow Executive Member for Adults & Public Health: Maggie Tyrrell

Shadow Executive Member for Corporate Resources: Mike Drew

Shadow Executive Member for Children and Young People: James Arrowsmith

Shadow Executive Member Schools, Skills and Employment: Jayne Stansfield     

Shadow Executive Member for Community Services & Tourism: Louise Harris

Shadow Executive Member for Planning, Transport and Strategic Environment: Adrian Rush

Committee Leads:

Co-chair of Scrutiny: Maggie Tyrrell

Lead member on Health Overview & Scrutiny: John O’Neill

Lead member on Spatial Planning and Strategic Sites Delivery: Mike Drew

Lead member on Development Management: James Arrowsmith

Lead member on Regulatory: Tony Davis

Lead member on Public Rights of Way & Commons Registration: Pat Trull 

Lead member on Audit & Accounts: John O’Neill

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.